Very long term trades

bladerunner

Forum Newbie
Hi everyone. This is my first post and I apologize if this has been discussed previously (please amalgamate it into an existing thread TFG if this has been discussed previously). I wanted to guage people's thoughts about very long term positions ie. 1 year or longer.

I am a relative newbie and have only been active in Forex for 6 months. Currently I am about 50% gain for the period on capital deployed. I recently reviewed my trading results for the 6 months for AU and find that I would have made more profit if I had just kept my initial short position from when I started shorting this pair (around 0.88) to now. Although I have picked up some of the swings, I have also missed out on some of the large moves down.

Currently I am thinking of just keeping the current short AUD.USD position I have from around 0.78 until 0.70 or 1 year, whichever occurs earlier. The other reason I am thinking about holding period of over 1 year is that there is a capital gains tax discount for investments held for over 1 year in the tax jurisdiction I am subject to.

I figure at 1:20 leverage and with a negative carry of 2% for the period, the position should show a positive 180% return if this reaches the target (0.70) within 1 year. There are a number of risks with this of course, mainly that the trend does not continue.

I think however, that if the trend continues, my return would not be greater from attempting to trade the ups and downs though. Also this strategy does seem to be more time efficient.

What would be the drawback of picking the highest conviction pair and trend you can identify for a period, entering at a point identified as being low probability of being stopped out and sticking with that for 1 year ? Is there something I am missing?

audusd-w1-ava-trade-ltd-3.png

tjenarvi

TFG Forum Junkie
My opinion, welcome to comments or disagree.