Price Action Testing - The Art of Perfection

james.kensington

Forum Newbie
Core reason why Price Action Traders FAIL when they "GO Live"

I have been trading FX Price Action strategy for around 4 years. I have been fortunate enough through guidance, mentoring and ongoing education, to be very
successful. I have also transitioned from a Part Time to a Full Time Trader as a lifestyle choice.

One of the main reasons for my success is Price Action Pilot Testing (PAPT).

P A P T

Step 1: Study Price Action Theory
Step 2: Study Price Action Setup
Step 3: Study Money Management
Step 4: Study Trading Psychology
Step 5: Create “Quick Reference Rules and Diagrams” (i.e. cross-referencing
when you trade)
Step 6: Test each Price Action (Pattern) & Setup on a Demo Account
Step 7: For every “Test Trade” create a Journal Entry and take notes (for
Statistical Analysis Later)
Step 8: Track your Progress (you are looking for an increase in your Wins Vs
Loss Ratio which should progressively improve over time and practice)
Step 9: Consult with Mentors, Get Guidance and Reviews
Step 10: Repeat Process

Note that I test this on the Daily Time Frame first, after which I must then achieve a 70/30 Win to Loss Ratio. I would never “Go Live” until I can achieve
this result consistently for 3 months minimum.

Example of Price Action Patterns & Setups you may test are Pin Bars, Engulfing Bars, Morning Stars, Dark Clouds etc.

If I “GO Live” trading and a PA Pattern/Setup starts falling I “STOP”. I talk to mentors. I get advice and guidance. I show people my journal entries and
get a critique. I also would never trade down a Time Frame i.e. from Daily to H4 unless, I had proven results on higher time frames.