make me more betterer....

unclesteve

Casual Member
I have already posted this in babypips and FPA, but I'd love to see more action here on The Forex Guy's excellent site, and anyways, elsewhere people aren't as sold on price action as here.

The markets have died for the moment. And I have been a real money trader for 120 days. I have yet to make a profit but I have learned a lot. I don't regret anything, but I HAVE to learn self-discipline. So the time is ripe for introspection...

In my day job we find transparency, accountability and high visibility to be excellent for motivation.

So here's the lowdown: I have lost about $1700, my account is at about $300, and I would like to improve (duh...).

I totally believe in the price action processes, because I know the trades I have messed up on have been the result of over confidence, revenge trading, and alcohol!

So it is time to contemplate my navel and see what's usable and what is just fluff...

The main thing I have learned is that it is extremely hard to stick to a system, because a system usually stops you from trading (and usually, rightly so!).

For the month of January then, I will stick entirely to 1 system and log my results. I will take into account the stats of my successes to date, develop a plan, and stick to it.

Successful trade features:

Wednesday and Thursday have been my best days

Highest % of wins was between 5-7 AM and 9-10 AM closing after an average of 7.5 hours

Longs on Tuesday & Wednesday were the only trades I averaged a profit

I won over 50% of trades in UJ, EA , NU, GCH, AU, EJ, AJ, EU, GU , AN, GCA, ECH, UCA, ACH, EG

I made a profit on AN, UJ, CACH, NU, ECA, GCA, and UCA only.

Only USDJPY, NZDUSD, GBPCAD and USDCAD fall into both categories.

As I said I discovered Price Action, but I didn't really record the signals I found, and sometimes after a loss I couldn't find the ones I had traded.

Plan for January:

I will record the basis / signal name & location for every trade